To the Local Goat Farm!!! ヤギファーム

Hi again!!

How many of you have felt imprisoned by the local supermarket?  They label their packages with “Organic” of “No hormones” but can you really trust them?   A few weeks ago, I bought some chicken thighs for what we thought was a good deal.  It was one those of those “quality” packs.   I was horrified, or rather my girlfriend was when she found a feather on the meat.  It didn’t bother me as much as it bothered her, but it got me thinking, “how much of this stuff do I want to eat and how gross does it get?”

We’ve been talking for a while about how inhumanely slaughterhouses treat animals, and each time I’ve tried to defend my point, (My stance:  meat would be there no matter if I bought it or not.  My girlfriend’s stance:  there would be less meat if I didn’t buy it.)  I’ve ended up agreeing with her.    We looked up local farms a few weeks ago, but never got the time to visit one.

Today, my girlfriend and I decided to go one fairly close by.  When we got there, we were greeted by a gate.   On the other was alot of mud, some chickens and ducks.  There was a little booth by the gate but it didn’t appear to serve any purpose since it was too small for someone to actually fit in it.  We stood there for about five minutes hoping for someone to walk out but no one ever did.  Although a border collie did come to greet us.  Luckily, my girlfriend’s phone had reception and we called the owner, who came out to meet us.  She and her husband gave us a tour of their farm which was pretty awesome.  The animals looked pretty free and happy.  One goat kept munching on my jacket, it must have tasted like hay!!

At the end of the tour, we were guided to a small room with a few freezers filled with goat, duck, and pork, but mostly pork.   Everything looked very professionally wrapped, and we purchased some eggs and a roast.  The owners were very kind and threw in some pork sausage.  Yummy!!!!

We felt very good about this place.  We didn’t have to worry about the conditions the animals were living in and we were supporting our local farmers.

(The image above is just an image of a goat farm, since I forgot to take pictures)

読んでくれてありがとう、次回まで!
Leave a Reply

